My wish for 2016

As we celebrate the beginning of another year, my wish for 2016 is simple – respect.

With all that’s happening in the world, I truly hope that we can respect other cultures, other ways of living, and situations other than our own.

Respect when it comes to freedom of speech (there is a fine line between freedom of speech and hate speech in my opinion).

Respect when it comes to understanding other people’s situations – from refugees seeking shelter to those who may seem to have it all together on the outside but are suffering inside.

I hope we can respect each other enough to be polite even when differences may exist.

As I write this, I’m in Lisbon admiring street art and hanging out in cafes while it pours with rain. And as I wandered today during a rain-free moment, I saw this piece of street art

Street art Lisbon Copyright Mandy Sinclair

and thought, “a little birdie told me….”

Don't be mean Copyright Mandy Sinclair

Copyright Mandy Sinclair

(Don’t be mean sculpture spotted in the Alfama district of Lisbon.)

Happy 2016!

xx Mandy

 

Follow my adventures on Instagram and Twitter.

 

2 thoughts on “My wish for 2016

Leave a comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.