A little piece of heaven (and it’s for sale)

It’s been my retreat in between events and special projects this high season.  My little piece of heaven on Earth.  The place I look forward to going to disconnect for a few days.  Recharge my batteries if you will before returning to Marrakech.

Villa for sale, Essaouira Morocco, Copyright Mandy Sinclair

Villa for sale, Essaouira Morocco, Copyright Mandy Sinclair

It’s a place about 10 minutes from the centre of Essaouira.  Hidden behind mud-brick walls is a four-bedroom villa and in-ground pool in the garden.  And it’s a little place that feels like my second home.

But sadly for me, it’s for sale as the final snagging details are completed.  So I know my days lounging here are limited.

Until then, it’s my getaway in what feels like the middle of nowhere.

Villa for sale, Essaouira Morocco, Copyright Mandy Sinclair

Villa for sale, Essaouira Morocco, Copyright Mandy Sinclair

The kind of place where the day starts with a cafe au lait by the pool, enjoying the sounds of the birds flying about and admire the colourful flowers throughout the garden.

Villa for sale, Essaouira Morocco, Copyright Mandy Sinclair

Villa for sale, Essaouira Morocco, Copyright Mandy Sinclair

Where afternoons are spent sipping wine on the patio next to the pool, away from the direct sunlight while catching up on Vogue, Wanderlust and Afar, my favourite publications, while lunch is prepared in the outdoor BBQ area.  The “host” is a great cook and is known to prepare me lemon chicken tajine and even local Saouiri specialty quari dial l’hout (sardine meatballs).  So yum!

Then as evening arrives, I head up to the roof terrace off my bedroom for views of the sunset over the surrounding forest and village as the call to prayer sounds out.

Villa for sale, Essaouira Morocco, Copyright Mandy Sinclair

Villa for sale, Essaouira Morocco, Copyright Mandy Sinclair

It’s a place where I sleep with the doors open, enjoying the breeze and moonlight from the first-floor bedroom as well as the sounds of the animals in the distance.

It’s a place that gets harder and harder to leave each time.  I’m sure you would agree, non?

 

About the villa:

  • Each of the four spacious bedrooms have ensuite bathrooms with either bath or shower as well as a private terrace with sitting area
  • The on-site hammam is large enough for two people to lay comfortably and enjoy this traditional beauty treatment
  • An outdoor barbeque and bar area are perfect for entertaining
  • A sunken living room with fireplace and a cozy nook is perfect for cooler evenings
  • A large kitchen with generous counter space and a pantry is accessible to the patio and pool area.  A bar separates this area from the dining area
  • The property has its own water source (it may sound crazy to note this, but it’s rather rare in this area)
  • The rooftop terrace is accessible via the two upper-floor bedrooms as well as a separate entrance

If you think you would like to call this villa your own, contact me at mandyjsinclair [at] gmail [dot] com to arrange a visit with the owner.  (And a glass of wine if I happen to be there 😉 )

Read more about Essaouira, why I love it there, and the weekend I look forward to all year.

2 thoughts on “A little piece of heaven (and it’s for sale)

  1. Pingback: A look back on 2014 | Why Morocco

Leave a comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.