My fav thing about Bluesfest

Music. Sunshine. Friends. And after-shift beers.  It’s been a great 12 days at Cisco Ottawa Bluesfest.

But I was delighted when I got to hear Miss Emily and her band take to the stage one sunny Saturday afternoon.

You see, one of my favourite things about Bluesfest is hearing new artists.  Musicians I’ve never heard of and may not otherwise have the chance to hear.  And then stocking up my CD collection.

And that’s exactly what happened last year.  Miss Emily performed a theatre show and absolutely blew me away.  No EP. No contract.  But she’s since been discovered by some of the biggest names in music.

Her voice is unreal. Her EP’s on repeat. Her style is fantastic. And her hair is perfect.

So if you are at Bluesfest today, come check her out in the Barney Danson Theatre at 4:30 p.m.  If that’s not possible, download her EP on iTunes. It’s the best $5 you can spend on music!

(Obviously I was also really excited to meet her and have her sign my Bluesfest pass as well!)

Meeting Miss Emily, my favourite Canadian indie musician

Meeting Miss Emily, my favourite Canadian indie musician

 

7 thoughts on “My fav thing about Bluesfest

  1. I trust your taste in music my friend so I have purchased said EP and it is my first purchase for my new IPod so it was momentous!

  2. Pingback: If summer has to end… « Why Morocco

  3. Pingback: The Bluesfest blues « Why Morocco

  4. Pingback: What I didn’t know when moving to Morocco | Why Morocco

Leave a comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.