I heart Cappadocia

Cappadocia Turkey, Copyright Mandy Sinclair

Oh I’ve found a little slice of heaven right here in Turkey.  And it’s called Goreme. After extending my visit, I left the village.  Only to return a day and half later. Then extended my visit again.  It was THAT fabulous.

So what was it that made this place so special?

The hiking

I was lucky to do quite a few hikes.  My top hikes/walks:

Ilhara Valley, the amazing valley is home to some amazing rock formations, caves and churches.

Ilhara Valley, Cappadocia Turkey, Copyright Mandy Sinclair

Ilhara Valley, Cappadocia Turkey, Copyright Mandy Sinclair

IMG_2905

The Love Valley and continue to the White Valley and find a spot for a picnic and enjoy the view.

White Valley, Cappadocia, Turkey, Copyright Mandy Sinclair

White Valley, Cappadocia, Turkey, Copyright Mandy Sinclair

And my absolute favourite, the Pigeon Valley.  The gorgeous rock formations and the absolute silence. A special hike!

Pigeon Valley, Cappadocia Turkey, Copyright Mandy Sinclair

Pigeon Valley, Cappadocia Turkey, Copyright Mandy Sinclair

Pigeon Valley, Cappadocia Turkey, Copyright Mandy Sinclair

Pigeon Valley, Cappadocia Turkey, Copyright Mandy Sinclair

The sights

While I’m not typically a fan of guided tours, the Green Tour, offered all around town by several agents and hotel concierges, is an exception.  This full-day tour took us through an underground city where Christians living in the area hid for several months from the enemies, on a walk through the valley, before saving the best for last, a monastery.

Monastery in Cappadocia Turkey, Copyright Mandy Sinclair

Monastery in Cappadocia Turkey, Copyright Mandy Sinclair

Monastery in Cappadocia Turkey, Copyright Mandy Sinclair

Monastery in Cappadocia Turkey, Copyright Mandy Sinclair

The people

One of the best things about travelling is the people you meet along the way.  Fellow travellers, locals and expats. But this time I met some amazing people who shared their touching stories with me, allowing me to peek in to another world that I had only read about in newspapers and novels.  And fascinated I was. We shared stories over several cups of tea, and lattes.

Copyright Mandy Sinclair

Copyright Mandy Sinclair

The silence

After living in Marrakech, where life is non-stop, staying in a quiet village was a pleasant change. It gave me a chance to relax.  And enjoy the scenery.

Cappadocia Turkey, Copyright Mandy Sinclair

Cappadocia Turkey, Copyright Mandy Sinclair

Cappadocia Turkey, Copyright Mandy Sinclair

Cappadocia Turkey, Copyright Mandy Sinclair

Cappadocia Turkey, Copyright Mandy Sinclair

Cappadocia Turkey, Copyright Mandy Sinclair

Needless to say, it was a tearful good-bye.

xo

Comments
4 Responses to “I heart Cappadocia”
  1. riadlinda says:

    Sounds wonderful Mandy -such a contrast to Marrakech, I’m sure you appreciated all the peace & quiet.

  2. Wow how beautiful I can see why you fell in love with it. Becoming inspired just looking at the photos xxxx

Trackbacks
Check out what others are saying...
  1. […] feeling ever so refreshed.  Six weeks of just me. To just sit and think.  Or not think.  Just relax.  And reflect.  Contemplate major decisions.  Like where to live.  And base myself. In fact, […]

  2. […] so when I arrived in Cappadocia, Turkey I was keen to hike, something I LOVE to do. I met friends to hike with. But there was still one […]



Leave a Reply

